What is a Specialist?

As human medicine has become more specialized, so has veterinary medicine. There are now numerous specialties in the veterinary field including surgery, internal medicine, cardiology, neurology, oncology, dermatology, radiology, ophthalmology and others.

A board certified veterinary surgeon must complete not only the undergraduate requirements and 4 years of veterinary school, but also additional training consisting of:

  • minimum of a 1-year internship
  • 3-year residency program that meets the guidelines established by the American College of Veterinary Surgeons (ACVS)
  • Specific training and caseload requirements
  • Research project with subsequent publication in a scientific journal
  • Take and pass a rigorous examination

Only veterinarians who have successfully completed the above-mentioned training and requirements of the ACVS are Diplomates of the American College of Veterinary Surgeons and have earned the right to be called specialists in veterinary surgery.

For more information, please visit www.acvs.org